Student Enrichment and Education

A key mission of Advanced Vehicle Technology Competitions (AVTCs) is to provide student enrichment and education through both experiential learning and supplemental training. Students gain hands-on, real-world experience in AVTCs as well as access to the following enrichment opportunities.
National Science Foundation Outstanding Faculty Awards
NSFIn 1997, AVTCs began an annual award to recognize the passion and mentorship of the program’s faculty advisors. Sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF), the ‘Best Outstanding Long-Term Faculty Advisor Award’ is presented ever year to the faculty advisor(s) who best promote the goals, objectives, and activities related to AVTCs at their universities. In 2005, NSF introduced the ‘Best Incoming Faculty Advisor Award’ to support new advisors in the program. Below are the past winners:

  • 1997: Dr. Andy Frank, University of California-Davis
  • 1998: Dr. Doug Nelson, Virginia Tech
  • 1999: Unknown
  • 2000: Dr. Glenn Bower, University of Wisconsin
  • 2001: Dr. Jeff Hodgson, University of Tennessee
  • 2002: Dr. John Beard, Michigan Tech University
  • 2003: Dr. David Holloway, University of Maryland
  • 2004: Dr. Dan Haworth, Pennsylvania State University
  • 2005: Dr. Doug Nelson, Virginia Tech (Long-Term) and Dr. Christi Patton Luks, University of Tulsa (Incoming)
  • 2006: Dr. Glenn Bower, University of Wisconsin (Long-Term) and Dr. Zac Chambers and Dr. Marc Herniter, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (Incoming)
  • 2007: Dr. Giorgio Rizzoni, Ohio State University (Long-Term) and Dr. Marshall Molen, Mississippi State University (Incoming)
  • 2008: Dr. Tim Maxwell, Texas Tech University (Long-Term) and Gary Neal, Pennsylvania State University
  • 2009: Doug Nelson, Virginia Tech (Long-Term) and Dr. Darris White, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Incoming)
  • 2010: Dr. Roydon Fraser, University of Waterloo (Long-Term) and Dr. Zuomin Dong and Dr. Curran Crawford, University of Victoria (Incoming)
  • 2011: Dr. Marshall Molen, Mississippi State University (Long-Term) and Dr. Shawn Midlam-Mohler, Ohio State University (Incoming)
  • 2012: Gary Neal, Pennsylvania State University (Long-Term) and Dr. Brian Fabien, University of Washington (Incoming)
  • 2013: Dr. Doug Nelson, Virginia Tech (Long-Term) and Thomas Bradley, Colorado State University (Incoming)
  • 2014: Dr. Roydon Fraser of the University of Waterloo (Long-Term) and Patrick Currier of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Incoming)
  • 2015: Dr. Andrew Nix of West Virginia University
  • 2016: Dr. Paul Puzinauskas of the University of Alabama
  • 2017: Dr. David Irick of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • 2018: Dr. Shawn Midlam-Mohler of Ohio State University
  • 2019: Dr. Hwan-Sik Yoon or the University of Alabama

In addition, the Governor’s Ethanol Coalition sponsored an Outstanding Faculty Award during Ethanol Vehicle Challenge. The winners include:

  • 1999: Dr. Ryan Wicker, University of Texas at El Paso and Chuck Allport, Cedarville College
  • 2000: Dr. William Weins and Dr. Alexander Peters, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Model-Based Design Curriculum Project

MBDCP-LOGOIn 2013, AVTCs launched a new Model-Based Design Curriculum Project that focused on self-paced, online learning modules that teach engineering students and entry-level engineers the basics of model-based design, how to build vehicle component simulation models, and fundamentals of hybrid system control and fault diagnosis. Funded by the U.S. Department of Energy, National Science Foundation, and MathWorks, the ‘Model-Based Design for Vehicle Powertrains’ course focuses on basic component modeling/energy flow, battery energy storage systems, and series hybrid supervisory control, as well as IC engines, transmissions, electric machines/power electronics, and parallel hybrid supervisory control. To learn more about the Model-Based Design Curriculum Project, visit